Quote

Day 19: Blogging U. 101 – Try a new posting style

So for this Blogging U. 101 assignment I’m trying the Quote post format. Post formating is something I only recently learned and finally understand what it’s purpose is. Meh. It’s ok I guess.

~~~

I’ve mentioned that I used to maintain a blog some time ago using wordpress and that part of the reason I stopped was because I lost focus, my anonymity had been lifted somewhat and something i hadn’t mentioned before was that I lost my WP community.

I’m convinced part of the reason for that is 1) Facebook was gaining wildly in its popularity, 2) Twitter was finding its legs and pulling people to its platform, 3) people can only maintain interest in an endeavor like writing/blogging for so long and 4) WordPress itself made it easier for people to drift from the WP community by adding the like button and creating the Reader.

Video killed the radio star.” ~ The Buggles

There was a time when going to read a blog buddy’s posts required you to click on your blog roll. In doing so, the stats in your friend’s dashboard would show someone visited from your site… most likely you.

But as the tech wizards at WP crafted the code to add new whiz-bang features, I think they may have added some things that changed the dynamic of the WordPress community and drifted it towards a facebook-esque, tumblr-ish means of connecting to readers.

And in my opinion that is not what it was like in the good ol’ days… and I liked the good ol’ days better.

*aBoyNamedSue walks to his window, shakes his fist in the air and yells out, “hey you kids!!! Get off my lawn!!!”*

3 thoughts on “Day 19: Blogging U. 101 – Try a new posting style

  1. Having no experience of what it was like in the past, I guess I shouldn’t really comment … but … I will … I just can’t help myself. I don’t think the reblog button is a good thing. And after adding a like button to my comments the other day, I’ve decided to take it down – cos that’s definitely a Facebooky thing!

  2. Ah the good old days when we went to the library to read books and blogs were newspaper columns in the local paper… I remember them well!

Leave a Reply

