Image

Day 22: Blogging U. 101 – attend a blog event

For Blogging U. 101 Day 22, our assignment is to put on our arm floaties and drift away from the safety of the Blogging U. 101 shallow end of the blog pool. We are to pick a Blog Event.

Blog events are daily, weekly, monthly, annually or sometimes one time prompts or writing/photo challenges that are intended to get creativity flowing and/or build community within your blogging circle.

There are a lot to choose from and I feel sort of like a freshman looking at all the choices you get for electives.

“oooh! I wanna do that one. No, this one. Wait, I kinda like this one. Hey that looks interesting.”

Years ago, (like in 2008) I tried NaNoWriMo but a week into it, there was a pretty traumatic life event that happened. Not to be all cryptic about it but it would detract from my point which is I’d like to get back to that novel I started. I thought (and still do when I re-read that beginning) that it was pretty good. I think attempting the Flash Fiction prompts and practicing over and over again writing will help in that endeavor.

Also in an effort to get my photo chops back to an acceptable, non-hack place, I might try one of the photo challenges. In fact, I’m leaning toward The Daily Post’s weekly challenge.

But for now… I give you my entries in the weekly Phoneography Challenge  sponsored by LensAndPensbySally which challenges creatives to shoot images with a camera phone. This week’s prompt (and every 1st Monday) is Nature. Descriptions above each image.

I have to be honest… I’m not really a trees and rocks kind of shooter. Landscape photography is extremely difficult to do well but I don’t think this is half bad for being taken with a phone.  This is Mt Charleston or at least very near it. I’m not sure if this is the peak or not.  I used my Samsung Galaxy (1stgen) and Pixlr to crop and adjust contrast.

Mt Chareston, NV

I am also not really a flora type photographer either. Again, extremely difficult and I don’t really know flowers. But this orchid?… growing near the reflection pond of Houston City Hall has really nice color. Shot with an iPhone 4s and cropped and bordered with Pixlr.

Photo Jan 14, 12 33 23 PM

I absolutely LOVE seahorses. I’m not sure why. I’ll have to explore that in a post one day. This was taken at The Dallas Aquarium. I used an iPhone 4s this time cropping with Photoshop CS and adding a little unsharp mask.

Photo Mar 22, 5 07 05 PM

And finally the often seen Hipster in the wild, with colorful socks and highwater pants. I understand this is worn during mating season but also when going to traffic court. Shot with iPhone 4s and cropped and bordered with Pixlr. No hipsters were harmed in the making of this photograph.

Photo Mar 29, 10 45 13 PM

 

 

11 thoughts on “Day 22: Blogging U. 101 – attend a blog event

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      thanks for stopping by Janet. I really appreciate it.
      I tend to joke around a little here on my blog so adding the image of the ‘hipster in the wild’ seemed to fit. : )

  1. Phonography, That’s interesting me thinks. I come on over, read through your post. Interesting me thinks. But where’s the music? You see, a Boy Named Sue, I imagined reading some kind of old-fashioned discography. Why? Phonogram/ Gramophone/a name that’s really a song …
    I’m really showing my age here!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phonogram_Records

    But, now that I’ve clicked(!) I like this challenge. I like what you’ve done with it. Reckon I could give it a go myself sometime, being as I only have a camera phone … but wait … it plays music too.

  2. a Boy Named Sue says:

    It’s funny you say that Jill. When writing this post I actually went back to LensAndPens once to make sure how to spell the challenge.

    I think my head kept thinking Phonogram because I wound up misspelling it anway! : )

  3. Meg says:

    I am addicted to by iPhone camera. Somehow those photos turn out better than with the Nikon. Love your photos…especially the hipster socks!

Leave a Reply

