day 24: Blogging U. 101 – publish a roundup

Day 24!
The Blogging U 101 assignment has us doing something that I’ve never done before and that is post a round up.

Alright, I’ve got a little confession.

tin-foil-hat

Every now and again my inner conspiracy theorist gets the best of me and I will spend HOURS watching youtube vids about chem trails, Agenda 21, Reptilian Humanoids, the Illuminati New World Order, mandatory RFID chips, etc.  I don’t know why. It fascinates me.

And although some might say the above list is absolute nonsense, I thought I’d give you a round up of a few that are a little more difficult to dismiss. Dismissible perhaps… but more difficult than the above list.  So without further ado…

#1. Why has the Dept of Homeland Security purchased 1.6 million rounds of ammunition?

I listen to a lot of conservative talk radio… (hey don’t judge! sometimes self flatulence is in order. Wait, um…. flagellation. I meant flagellation. I suddenly feel like Sarah Palin.)

new take on the Gonzalez Flag

new take on the Gonzalez Flag

Anyways!… so there are a lot of right-wing, tea party types who are rabid about the 2nd ammendment and believe it is in place to be able to fend off the government.

Let me tell ya something. I was in the military. I’ve seen up close and personal some of the toys the DoD has to play with and I can guaran-damn-tee you that your little .22 AR-15 isn’t gonna do shit to an even a mediocre equipped government funded militia. It sure as hell helps prevent tyranny and blow away that intruder who comes in at 3am though.

But when Forbes is doing an article about DHS buying up ammo, it does make you scratch your head a little.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/ralphbenko/2013/03/11/1-6-billion-rounds-of-ammo-for-homeland-security-its-time-for-a-national-conversation/

#2 Why are the honeybees dying?

This one is actually pretty damn fascinating and kinda blends in with the Agenda 21 population control crazies. Here are a couple of facts for you to simmer on: honey bee populations are dying at an alarming rate and about 30% of the food we eat requires pollination from bees.

Couple that with GMO trail blazer Monsanto Foods creating crops that yield only once and a rising world population wellllll… I’m not saying it’s a conspiracy, I’m just sayin’.

http://www.mnn.com/local-reports/pennsylvania/local-blog/the-importance-of-honeybees

#3 the deliberate dumbing down of America

Ok… I’m gonna go on the record and say, “I am no rocket scientist.” When I go to a party or meeting, I don’t go in with the idea that odds are I will be the smartest one in the room.

i-see-dumb-people-everywhere

But even I can say with utmost confidence that there are some pretty damn stupid people within our midst.  And they VOTE!

Things like the Common Core Standards Initiative, The Texas Board of Education trying to rewrite history and a number of other states attempting to force creationism into the curricula as science is a recipe for creating one of the dumbest generations our country has ever seen. And a dumb citizenry is easy to control. Just sayin’.

#4  The Pixar Conspiracy Theory!!!

And finally… this one.

I’m not sure if it’s true but what I gather from this is there are some people who have WAY more time on their hands than I do.

original

http://www.thewire.com/entertainment/2013/07/pixar-conspiracy-theory-will-blow-your-mind-tk/67332/

8 thoughts on “day 24: Blogging U. 101 – publish a roundup

  1. Love this! As a teacher, thanks for including the Common Core…ugh. This makes me want to search “Preppers”. I’ll bet there are some pages out there for folks preparing for the apocalypse. Great post!!!

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      *aBoyNamedSue yells out in slow motion* “dohhnnnnnn’t dooooooo ihhhtttt!!”

      : ) If you google preppers you’re liable to get sucked into a vortex of the interwebs to which you’ll never be able to get out.

      Or decide you need to build a fortified compound with three years worth of food in an underground bunker.

      Thanks for the follow. : )

      • I have a student who has introduced me to the world of preppers. He has at least 5 go bags stashed in places near his house. He’s preparing for a nuclear holocaust or EMP.

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who ends up finding their way onto the crazy side of YouTube… I’ve been fascinated with conspiracy theories for ages, I think it’s just because I love a good story, and the tin-foil hat brigade have certainly got a few of those 🙂

Leave a Reply

