Heirarchy of needs

At church a couple weeks ago the preacher said he did some research on Maslow’s hierarchy of needs and that there is a growing number of researchers who believe the list might be a bit out of order. He said there are some who believe that even before the base level of physiological needs such as water, food, air etc that human beings need friends. I’m not sure how anything could come before air and the ability to breathe but I’m not a sociologist or anthropologist.

He went on to rattle off a pretty interesting set of statistics stating how many people are in the groups that humans require. I wish I knew where he got that list and its findings because I can’t remember exactly but I think it was based on Dunbar’s number of 150 which is the “limit to the number of people with whom one can maintain stable social relationships.”

He said that we as humans need at least two to three really good friends. You know that friend who you can call in the middle of the night because your dog just died and he or she would come over to help you figure out what to do.

After that the number I think jumps up to 32 or was it 52? Ugh, I can’t remember… and I think the group was the people who are in your close circle; family, close friends. Then I think came 150. That is Dunbar’s number. He described these people as those who are in our tribe. The mechanic who knows your car, the lady at the deli who knows what cuts of meat you like and knows the name of your kids when you come to the counter… those people.

He said in the stages of human evolution, this is where we stopped… 150. For some reason the way are brains evolved, we simply couldn’t and according to recent studies, still can’t, go past 150. Way back in the day, when the tribe started to grow beyond that it would break off and a new tribe was started and it would begin again. And these little nodes of 150 would make up clans and villages and so on.

So with that in mind, I’d like to thank you my fellow Zero to Hero bloggers. Thank you for letting me be part of your 150. I can feel a kinship growing and I hope to continue that connection and stay part of the tribe. Michelle said The Daily Post is going to be starting a Writing 101 starting soon. I think I might try my hand at that as well as the YeahWrite.me challenges now that Blogging U. 101 is over. Maybe I’ll see some of you there?

For now though, congrats to all of you!!!

6 thoughts on “Heirarchy of needs

  1. Very interesting about Maslow’s Hierarchy. I’m not sure people who are starving or who are living below the poverty level would agree, but it is interesting to think about. I do agree that it has been amazing to connect with so many others through Zero to Hero. I must say that I feel a little bereft today.

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      That’s exactly what i was thinking when I heard this! I was like, “I bet someone who is shivering and without shelter, thirsty and hungry would probably not be thinking their first wish would be for a buddy to be there with them.”

      I looked up Maslow’s hierarchy and having friends is on the pyramid though.

      • The more I think about this, I wonder if having a companion to share life with, even if you are hungry and tired is the thing that helps get you through it all. When I look at pictures of people who live in third world countries, a lot of times they are gathered together and smiling and enjoying companionship. I’m certainly not saying they’re happy, but perhaps having a friend makes their conditions livable. I love it when people post things that keep me thinking!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

