three favorite songs

Writing 101, Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice
Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping β€” and build a writing habit.

Ugh… I’m a couple days behind on the Writing 101 assignments. I’m going to skip #2 and try to catch up here with #3. Above is the assignment. Below starts my post.

Music has been such an important part of my life, in creating, playing and listening to it, that it’s nearly impossible to pick from the hundreds only three that are significant to me.

I mean I immediately thing of “Blinded By the Light”… the Manfred Mann version that was popular in the late 70s. It was my fourth year of playing Little League baseball and I was on a winning team. It was the last game of the season and winning would propel us into the playoffs. We did win and at the moment the game was over a car (I assume with teenagers) drove by our baseball field with the windows down blaring that song. I don’t know why that holds such a strong memory for me but the chorus of that song just happened to be playing during the three or four seconds it took that car to roll past.

But how can I included that as one of three really significant songs in my almost 50 years of living. I mean I’ve been fortunate enough to live during some of the best years in rock and pop music history.

Not to mention that I grew up listening to what is now considered “old school” country: Merle, The Possum, Charlie Pride, Tammy Wynette, “Waylon and Willie and the boys” : )

And as I got into middle school, I began to
rebel and listen to rock… and listen loud. What was accessible was Led Zeppelin, The Who, Pink Floyd, Yes, Cheap Trick, Rush.

In college I wavered between bands of the second British Invasion like Yaz, The Police, Depeche Mode, The Smiths, New Order and Level42 and new country artists like Garth Brookes, George Strait, Vince Gill, Allen Jackson and Reba.

One song that sticks out from youth is one that is forever ingrained in my memory again because of the instance when I heard it. It was my wedding day. I had stayed the night with my best man and his wife. It was about 2:00 when we left his house and my wedding was at 2:30. Normally it would take about 45 minutes to get there. Of course, as with most things in my life I was running late. He was determined to get me there on time and we were screaming down the freeway in his 1987 Chevy Camaro, the windows down and the radio BLARING! The wind was whipping all around us as he weaved in and out of traffic and he turns his head to look at me and tries to yell above the traffic, wind and radio, “YOU KNOW MAN…. THIS IS HOW I ALWAYS THOUGHT IT WOULB BE.”
“WHAT’S THAT?”
YOU’RE WEDDING DAY! US FLYING DOWN THE ROAD TRYING TO GET THERE, RUNNING LATE OF COURSE AND WITH ZEPP BLASTIN’ ON THE SPEAKERS!”

Led Zeppelin WAS blasting on the speakers and he turned it up even more.

I said in a previous post that I play in a band with a couple of friends. I’m fortunate that they almost always accept any song I bring to them and they enthusiastically embrace it and try to add their part to it. In the eight years or so that I’ve been writing music I’ve written I don’t know… maybe 35 or 40 songs and a handful of them I really like but my latest one, for me, is important. Really important because it kind of defines what I believe about my life and life in general.

It’s a song about Grace, second chances, forgiveness, redemption, the human spirit and our desperate nature to survive thankfulness, promises and about love.
If you’ve made it this far through my post, thank you. Here it is. It’s a rough demo that put together for my band. Hope you like it.

10 thoughts on “three favorite songs

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      Believe it not, my buddy got me there with a minute or two to spare… technically on time but my ex-wife was LIVID.
      Hm… maybe I did have something to do with why we’re still not married.
      Nah! Not me. : )

      Thanks for the comment.

  1. Love your song choices…I actually know these songs! I’ve read a lot of these posts and haven’t recognized the songs. My favorite is your first pick. Good to see you back here again! πŸ™‚

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      Thanks Am. I’ve had a lot of the people who follow me say something along the lines of ‘welcome back’. It’s nice to know I was missed. : )

  2. There’s so much emotion in this, Sue. I liked it a lot. And there’s a quality to your voice; the way it crackles on notes and the way you whisper some of the lyrics that makes the song feel like a secret. I can’t tell though if this is about someone who haven’t met yet (I’d introduce myself) or if this is to someone you’ve known a long time (trying to make things right again).

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      Thanks for the kind words Nate. I think you may be the first person who has gotten all the way to the bottom and actually listened to it, so thanks for that.

      So you get the back story.
      Did you happen to see that video produced by Wren? It’s a clothing company that did a video called “First Kiss”.

      That video gave the inspiration for the lyrics. But as the song evolved over a few weeks I began to look at it a little differently. I looked at it as if it were about a couple that was breaking up.

      I imagined a couple whose “world was ending” and who had grown so far apart that they were like strangers. I imagined one thinking “not if you were the last person on earth.” And maybe someone deciding to forgive and give a second chance.

      The lines that go, “I will go where you go…” come from the Book of Ruth and although I’m not a Christian the story is a fascinating example of redemption and loyalty.

      My wife and I in our short five years of marriage have gone through some really rough and difficult times that a lesser couple would have crumbled under. Some of those events were just chance, others inflicted by one or the other. I feel like I’ve been forgiven way more than I deserve by her for my transgressions. Perhaps that’s where the crackles and whispers come from… I’ve been given a second chance.

      Thanks again for listening Nate.

  3. Meg says:

    ABNS, that song is lilting and vulnerable and sweet. Loved the refrain especially. I feel the same way about my husband — I will go where he goes…and that’s a soulful thing. (And I enjoyed reading about your other fave songs and the memories associated with them. The fact that it was hard to pin them down says much about how you live life.)

    • a Boy Named Sue says:

      Thanks for the kind words Meg. I’ll have to get by your place more often on the web instead of the reader inside wordpress. I love your David Byrne quote in your header. : )

      You miss little subtleties and decorations bloggers have made to their place when you just stick to the reader.

Leave a Reply

