wishful thinking for a future daughter

Writing 101, Day Six: A Character-Building Experience Today, you’ll write about the most interesting person you’ve met in 2014. In your twist, develop and shape your portrait further in a character study.

I don’t think I pulled this off as well as I could have but time constraints.

***

It’s been years since my daughter would be here on the weekends. The result of the divorce from her mother left me only seeing her on weekends and Wednesdays and now that she is half way through college and the workload is consistently getting harder I am relegated to the occasional text and phone call.

Certainly I could call but I want to leaver her be. I don’t want to be like her mother, reinforcing apron strings instead of cutting them. I’d rather let the girl go out on her own without the shadow of a helicopter over her.

But I ache for my little girl. I do miss her.

So when I met Caroline, the 11 year old daughter of a friend at church, I quickly felt a paternal attraction to her because she somewhat resembles my daughter Heather. And she seemed to like me, too. She hasn’t been shy about dishing out hugs and warmly says hello when she sees me. I look forward to her hugs like I do for Heather but I don’t recall my daughter being so…

small.

I mean my daughter, even at 20, is quite petite barely pushing over five feet tall but Caroline’s skinny little frame seems to require more care in hugging than my little girl ever did, as Heather, despite always being short and thin, still was quite solid.

Caroline, on the other hand seems delicate although her skinned knees, bobbed hair, and scar under her chin beg to differ with that assessment. And her legs, nearly as chiseled as a renaissance era sculpture of a Greek god from her years of Tai Kwon Do, show the athleticism that pairs with the competitive spirit that guides her body.

I think if I were her age, I would be quite smitten, which probably explains why my 10 year old stepson follows her around after Sunday school.

If I do well raising him and he plays his cards right, well maybe in 10 or 15 years I’ll have another daughter in that little brown-eyed Caroline. Too soon, to make wishful statements like that?

2 thoughts on “wishful thinking for a future daughter

Leave a Reply

